Remembering the “Good Tidings”

Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. ~ Luke 2:10

I have said this for the last two weeks, “it just does not FEEL like it’s time for Christmas!”

The weather here in Richmond, VA has been exceptionally warm. Only a few houses in my neighborhood have the lights up. The stores are not overcrowded. My nieces and nephews are in their 20’s, and the thrill of buying gifts for them has long past.

But…Christmas, to many, is more than a season. The representation of Christmas is the representation of our hope and beliefs.

I choose to celebrate, not because of traditions, and not because of ancient beliefs (Yes, I know the story behind the pagan origins), but I choose to celebrate because my belief goes beyond what I feel. For a moment, I forgot my reason why I celebrate beyond the snow, the weather and the gift giving.

I wake up this morning, remembering that good tidings were brought some 2000 years ago, bringing me, and us all, tidings of great joy.

Reflect on your purpose of this season. Enjoy your coffee and power up your day with remembrance.

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of coffee

ayoka-boyce-christmas

 

 

Leave a Reply

