The Joy of the Sign

When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceedingly great joy. ~ Matthew 2:10

When you finally see it! When the promise arrives.

Since childhood, I have travelled for Christmas. I say that I know Interstate 95 from New York to Richmond VA like the back of my hand.

Anticipation of great things are exciting. For weeks prior to the trip, there was shopping, packing, and planning all of the wonderful things that I would do with my family. It would seem like the actual travel date would never come.

On Christmas Eve, my mom and I, would finally get on the road. With music in the background, we would sing and talk for at least half of the six hour and half hour drive. We just couldn’t wait to get to Richmond to do this or that. Oh, the trip would seem to take forever.

Then finally, we would see the sign. “Richmond International Airport”. The weeks of preparation, the hours of driving were all wrapped up in the promise of the sign. We were arriving at the expected place, at the expected time.

I imagine the greater Joy the wise men felt when they saw the sign of the star. The years of waiting, for the promise, the preparation and the travel, to finally look up, and see that they were finally approaching the destination.

Now that I live in Richmond, I often tell my family that one of things I really miss about living in New York, is the joy and experience of travelling on the road to see them!

To quote my pastor, Bishop Michael B. Curtis, Jr, “The process of getting to your destined place is just as rewarding as the actual arrival.” I realize that I miss the process but I’m certainly grateful to be here with my family.

As many as are travelling on this Christmas Eve, I pray that your travels are safe and full of joy and anticipation. One more day until Christmas! Enjoy your coffee and power up your day!

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of coffee

ayoka-boyce-christmas

 

5 thoughts on “The Joy of the Sign

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words
    in your post seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this
    is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d
    post to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Many thanks

    Like

  2. I will right away snatch your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink
    or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please
    allow me recognise so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

