Pressure Points

For there is hope for a tree, When it is cut down, that it will sprout again, And its shoots will not fail. Though its roots grow old in the ground And its stump dies in the dry soil, At the scent of water it will flourish And put forth sprigs like a plant. ~ Job 14:7-9

Last April, I went to the dentist for needed dental work. There was a cracked wisdom tooth which at times caused considerable pain. After examination, the dentist decided on a course of action and contacted insurance to ensure the procedures would be covered. Unfortunately, I did not return to the dentist until this week. Had I stayed on schedule, I would have had a simple procedure. Because I waited, I had to have a painful wisdom tooth extraction.

The Problem

It was easy to ignore the problem. I used ibuprofen to fix my symptoms because I was afraid to literally deal with the ‘root’ of the issue. But the medication was never designed to be the solution.

The Pressure

During the procedure, the dentist kept saying, “this is not pain, it is pressure”. I could not get up from the chair. The problem was never going to be fixed without me having to endure the pressure. The dentist could never fix the issue, if she was not willing to put me under the pressure.

The Lesson

Sometimes, what does not feel good, “the pressure”, is what is needed for true healing.  For example, pressure over our bills can be the trigger that directs our attention to fix our finances and credit.

This morning, I want to encourage everyone who may be experiencing pressure. Situations are not designed to hurt us, but to get us to the root of the problems. Deliverance and healing comes through the root.

Trust God through the pressure and the process. Enjoy your coffee and power up your day.

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of coffee

more-than-a-conqueror

Leave a Reply

