Control the Controllables

My mornings at work are organized. The first thing I do is pull up my to do list. It is full of reports that I must complete daily, weekly and monthly. As I go through my morning, I check off the list as I go, making sure that nothing is missing or broken. As much as possible, all reports are completed before my calendar fills up with meetings and my inbox is filled with emails.

There are reasons why I have to stay organized. I learned some time ago that management may need information from me at any given time. Sometimes I will receive requests for information on data from 6 months or even a year prior. There is little room for error.

But there was a time…

There was a time when I did not use the list. I relied on everything in my head. I thought, ‘I do the same thing daily, I should know this by now.’ I would spend five hours trying to complete the same items that I now complete in two hours. My thoughts were scattered, I was distracted by meetings and inboxes. I would leave my desk, come back and not remember where I left off work.

The best days at work now are when the boss sends me a request for information and I have it back to him within minutes.

I fought against structure

My dad was ‘a list’ person. Every morning and afternoon, there were to do lists on the table of chores and homework that I was expected to complete. I did not realize that back then, he was teaching me structure. I remember how I used to cringe to see those pieces of paper on the kitchen table!
Funny, the things that I tried for so many years to run away from, are the very things that I now crave to have in my life. Organization, time management and structure are all important components that I need in order for me to excel to next level ministry.

I used to believe that to do lists and structure were items to try to control my thoughts and actions. I thought that they took away from my freedom and creativity. I have learned that what structure takes away is random thoughts, wasted time, incomplete projects and feelings of frustration.

I have learned this, structure is part of the path to reaching purpose. Take control of the controllables. Enjoy your coffee and power up your day!

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

20161208_235556

2 thoughts on “Control the Controllables

Leave a Reply

