A Mindset to Finish / Part 3

So now finish doing it as well, so that your readiness in desiring it may be matched by your completing it out of what you have. ~ 2 Corinthians 8:11

Three years ago, I walked/jogged in the Monument Avenue 10K  (6.2 miles) race in Richmond VA. There were two things that I wanted to accomplish that day. The first, that no matter how tired I was, that I would run across the finish line. The second, was that I keep up enough of a pace that I would not be the last person to cross the finish line.

Sounded good, but I was slowing down by the time I reached the halfway mark. And there were a lot of people who started behind me that were easily passing me by. Some were walking, others were running and I was pushing through with everything that I had. It was discouraging. I imagined myself being on the news as the last one to finish.  I wanted out but there was no turning back either.  As much as I wanted to stop the race, the only way back to my parked car was to get across the finish line.

Push through to the finish

When we have a mindset to finish, we push through. Even when it seems like we are slowing down. Especially when it seems like others are prospering further than we are. Push through anyway.  Life is not a group project and we must complete our own individual assignments.  I was ready to quit the race because I was more concerned about other people passing me by.

Defeat begins with the thoughts in our mind.  Therefore, it is necessary to keep our thoughts directed towards the joy of completion.

I made it across the finish line.  About 100 feet away, I broke out into a sprint. The camera’s snapped the picture of me running across! Can you imagine the joy I felt in completing the race? I did not come in last. But at that point, it would not have mattered. I was just thrilled to have finished.

Finish this day well. Enjoy your coffee and power your day with a mindset to finish.

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, blogger, author,(10 K finisher) and lover of coffee

ayoka-boyce-iwrite

 

Leave a Reply

