Mindset to Finish // Part 4

Always set an example for others by doing good actions. Teach with integrity and dignity.~ Titus 2:7

I had no idea that having a teenager was so involved.

Last weekend, my 16 year old niece moved in. Yesterday I took her to school in the morning. This morning, I forgot all about her having to go to school! As I was almost ready to walk out of the house for work, I noticed that she was almost dressed. I asked her where was she going this morning. she gave me a strange look and said ‘school’.  I thought, ‘how did I miss that?’ I have to take her to school every morning now!

When we pulled up to the school, I clearly heard the Lord instruct me to have prayer with her. Now, I have heard preachers and teachers say to pray with your children before school, but I never had to do it since I don’t have children. I stopped the car, turned off the music and we prayed. To my surprise, she was very receptive to praying.

I know the role of the cool auntie, but the role of caretaker is completely new to me. I have a 16 year old who is watching my words and my actions. What I do now, has a greater impact than it ever did before. Last night, she asked me how the writing was going with my latest book. Now I realize I need to give her updates every day. I want to set an example for her and show her that I have a mindset to finish this book on schedule.

We are all somebody’s example

Have you ever heard people say, ‘What you do is not necessarily for you, but it is for you to be a witness for others’? Every day, we serve as beings a part of somebody’s great cloud of witnesses. Good or bad, our actions set an example that somebody will follow.

Today I am doing a more thorough examination of myself. What example am I setting when I don’t complete my tasks? What name do I give myself when I don’t keep my word?

Just a few morning thoughts. Still on consecration without my coffee, and I am surviving.  Enjoy your coffee and Power up Your day

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

20161208_235556

Leave a Reply

