Mindset to Finish // Part 5

See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise,  redeeming the time, because the days are evil. ~ Ephesians 5:15-16

Unfinished tasks and goals will almost always end in missed opportunities.

About two years ago, I went into a car dealership to inquire about trading in my car. I test drove a gorgeous Malibu that had every bell and whistle I wanted. Unfortunately, my current car was ‘underwater’. The costs that would come from trading that car in would have placed me in a financial noose.

I was given advice: open an account with the credit union, keep the account active and in good standing, and pay my bills on time as much as possible. After a year, I would be in better financial shape to trade in my car..

A year later, I spoke back to the dealer and he asked if I had followed the steps. I told him no. He stated ‘Imagine if you had started a year ago and finished the plan, you could be driving the car that you want.’

Not only did I not have the mindset to finish, I did not even have enough faith to get the process started.

No more excuses

We can redeem our time with excuses or we can redeem our time by finishing the goals before us. I redeemed my time with excuses.

I cringed at the advice because one year seemed to be too long of a process to get a new car. In the two years from that conversation I did not finish the process laid before me. I held back my own progress. I kept my financial situation in bondage. I stayed in my underwater car. All because when I received the good advice, I did not grasp the mindset to finish the process.

Today I encourage each of you, and myself, to keep the Mindset to Finish. Let us be wise with our time (there’s that time-management again) and faithful to fulfilling our purpose.

Enjoy your coffee and Power up Your day

Join me each morning with Morning Coffee and Daily Inspirations

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

