I’m Taking this Off Today

See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God; that no “root of bitterness” springs up and causes trouble, and by it many become defiled; Hebrews 12:15

It is the day after Valentine’s Day. For all of us single people, the world is back in working order! I was having a great day yesterday, until I allowed two people to get under my skin. Two co-workers slighted me at separate times. One slight, I am sure was unintentional. The other I am sure was 100% intentional. For whatever the reasons were, both actions sent me into a bad and bitter mood.

Today, we have an office party and I have to see these two again. I have three choices:

  1. Completely ignore them and do it in a way that I make them feel slighted
  2. Speak to them as normal. But be sure to get a slick comment in about yesterday
  3. Forgive, move on, and treat them with the same respect that I would want to be treated.

You already know, I am choosing number three. Not that I can’t do the first two with perfect execution, but there comes a point and time when you let things go. Sometimes God will allow things to happen in order to expose the things that need to be cleaned up in the heart.

There was a lesson in it

I learned that it was not the slight that bothered me. What bothered me was the feelings that it sparked. It reminded me of EVERY time I was slighted, passed over, felt I was not good enough, and told that I was not good enough. Of course this was an designed attack, it happened on Valentine’s day.

I refuse to wear bitterness today. I refuse to let the enemy use me to cause this office to be in an uproar. I refuse to ruin someone else’s ‘today’ because I had bad ‘yesterdays’.

Today, I encourage you (and myself) to wear your joy. Enjoy your coffee and Power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

Leave a Reply

