God Answers Us in Dark Moments

This is God’s Message, the God who made earth, made it livable and lasting, known everywhere as God: Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own (Jeremiah 33:2-3, MSG)

Have you ever tried walking in your home when it is dark? The moments I have been brave enough to try I have dropped things on the floor or been unfortunate enough to stub my toe(ouch).These experiences remind me that I am not invincible and sometimes I need to reach for the light switch for my own well-being.  Such was the case of Jeremiah who found himself in a dark moment of a different sort.  When we meet Jeremiah, he is in prison and God is speaking to him!  I find it amazing and encouraging that many times God decides to speak to His followers and reveal His might when they are in prison-like situations.

Was Jeremiah in prison for doing anything wrong? This is our natural assumption when we see others experiencing difficult moments.  We think, “I wonder what they did to receive such fate!”  Jeremiah continued to speak God’s decrees, which angered the political leaders and some of the religious figures of that time. He was right before God, but wrong to those who disagreed with his stance.   Did Jeremiah feel discouraged or hopeless? Yes, I am sure he had those moments.  Did Jeremiah remain silent and abandon God?  No, and as a result, even in darkness, God continued to speak to him.

In the dark God said to Jeremiah, “Call to me and I will answer you.  I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own” (Jeremiah 33:3, MSG). The key to going through dark moments well is not losing sleep, worrying excessively or trying to figure it out with your ingenuity.  It is calling to God for an answer so He can reveal His plans that we cannot see.

When you examine the entire text, you are able to see redemption at work. God promised to restore the desolate and torn areas for His people.  He promised to express His mercy to His people once more.  God’s people were suffering at the hands of their own decisions, which Jeremiah forewarned would occur.  Yet, all was not lost!  God brought a message of hope and encouragement to Jeremiah that He is not only a God of punishment but of redemptive love.  This fresh wisdom from God would sustain Jeremiah through the dark moments he still had to endure until this promise was fulfilled.

You may find yourself in a dark moment that feels like it will never end. You may be asking yourself, “What have I done to deserve this experience? I’ve done nothing wrong!”  You may wonder if there is an answer, but struggle since Heaven appears silent.  Ask God for an answer and allow Him to reveal fresh insight and hope.  Allow God to reveal answers that will show His might and bring His light to a dark experience.

Enjoy your coffee and expect God to speak with you today!

Ashley Sauls~ Minister, Author, Speaker, Encourager

Leave a Reply

