Are You Following God’s Instructions?

Has God given you any unique instructions recently?  Are you following His instructions or avoiding them because they do not make sense? I love how God gives us instructions outside of our comfort zones.  I remember a specific time where God wanted me to buy blank canvases and simply paint. I was okay with painting because I found it therapeutic for myself and a fun way to tap into my creative side.  After the first two days of painting, God impressed upon me to give the artwork away.  This was where I took some issue!  I am a very simple artist and I did not want to be labeled as the strange woman giving weird art pieces away.  I remember one painting was a crown of thorns and I gave the painting to a teenage girl who needed healing. I gave her the piece, reluctantly, thinking she would believe it was odd for a total stranger to give her a painting.  Her reaction was completely different—she smiled and was grateful for the artwork.  I am not sure of what the gesture meant in her healing process, but it taught me about obedience.  It was a moment where God was asking me, “Are you okay with looking silly to others, but being obedient to me?”

This was the case for Joshua.  In Joshua 6: 2-5, God gives the following instructions:

But the Lord said to Joshua, “I have given you Jericho, its king, and all its strong warriors. You and your fighting men should march around the town once a day for six days.  Seven priests will walk ahead of the Ark, each carrying a ram’s horn. On the seventh day you are to march around the town seven times, with the priests blowing the horns. When you hear the priests give one long blast on the ram’s  horns, have all the people shout as loud as they can. Then the walls of the town will collapse, and the people can charge straight into the town”(NLT).

Talk about instructions that did not make sense naturally!  Jericho was a fortified city where no one could go in nor come out.  God’s instructions to Joshua were to march around the city once a day with the Ark of the Covenant (His presence) with the priests blowing the ram’s horns.  On the seventh day(only) would the marching increase to seven times, the ram’s horns would be blown, and then the people would shout!  We usually celebrate on the seventh day, because we realize that Jericho was overtaken and victory was secured for Israel.  We really do not think about some of the questions everyone had about the first six days.  Did it make sense to march around the city once a day? Did it make sense for the first six days the only sounds that were approved were the sounds from the ram’s horns? What sense did it make they could not talk or shout until the seventh day?  Even though this is a timeless experience in our spiritual lineage it is still perplexing!

As I was reading more about this moment, I read about the ram’s horns.  It said the ram’s horns symbolized that victory would come from God and not their military experience! That is rich! God does not need our skills to secure the victory; He simply needs us to obey.

Are you wrestling with instructions from God?

Are you finding it difficult to obey because it does not make sense?

As you continue to follow God’s instructions in the matter, you will win! If you have been avoiding a certain instruction, maybe it is time to do things God’s way.  Your breakthrough could be moments away if you just do what you have been asked to do.

Enjoy your coffee and choose to obey God today!

Ashley Sauls~ Minister, Author, Speaker, Encourager

 

 

Leave a Reply

