Who, me?

But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?” Ex:3:11

Has God ever called you to do something and you’re like, “Who, me? Are you talking to me? You cannot really be asking me to do this…. But God?  I don’t know. Me? Really. Me. For real?”

Recently my sister-friend asked if I could help her out and contribute to a project.  I was hesitant. I knew that I should say yes. that I needed to say yes. Otherwise it would be a missed opportunity and I would live to regret it. I knew that the proposition was God ordained even without her telling me that it was (she later shared with me that God indeed had instructed her to ask me.) And the minute that I said okay (and I was shaking in my boots when I did) thoughts of inadequacy and doubt surfaced. “Is she sure? Is this for me? what if I mess this up? What if I end up looking like a fool? Can I do this? I haven’t done on anything like this in like…..ever!”

On and on, these thoughts rolled around my mind like a rock. It was then I was reminded of Moses when God had called him to lead his people out of Egypt to the Promise Land. Moses sat there and listed all the reasons why God had gotten the wrong man for the job. And God promised Moses that He would be there each step of the way. Moments of doubt and insecurity can creep in when we feel that we are less than what the task God is calling us to do. We feel that because we lack certain credentials or experience in the matter, surely we are not qualified. But God doesn’t operate like that. He doesn’t want us to rely on “chariots” or own abilities because the glory wouldn’t go to Him.

We would never know how big God really is if we weren’t painfully aware of our shortcomings.  I told this same bestie of mine that by doing this I will be ‘jumping off the cliff’. To which she replied, Jump! There is a scene in this Indiana Jones movie where Indiana is standing at the edge of a cliff. He has to get to the other side. Problem is there no bridge-that he can see. The thing of it is, the bridge will only appear if he believes that the bridge is there even if he can’t see it. But first, he has to step out.  He closes his eyes, raises his foot, and takes a step. When he opens his eyes he finds that he is standing on a solid surface. The bridge appeared because he believed it was there. If he doubted, he would’ve went tumbling down into the ravine. See what just happened there?  We spend so much of our time wondering if we are good enough when all we have to do is trust in the One who is.

We are often plagued by our insecurities wondering if we are up for the task. God had to point out to Moses it wasn’t about his ability. It was about what Moses could do through God (Phil 4:13). HE is all Moses needed.  I’m not comfortable doing this new thing. And I guess that’s the point of it too. God has to move me out of my comfort zone just as He had to move Moses out of his. And just like Moses, I listed every reason why He couldn’t possibly be talking to me.  He’s moving me to a place where I am learning to put my trust in Him. And that’s no easy feat.

Is God calling you to something else? Are you on the edge of a cliff that leads to your divine purpose? What un-comfort zone is God moving you to? Take a deep breath, close your eyes, and trust His Word. Take that next step. The bridge will appear.

Enjoy your coffee, grab a hold of God’s hand and jump!

Lavahn Davis ~ Writer, loves God, hubby and kids…. the rest are just fringe benefits

lavahn-davis

4 thoughts on “Who, me?

  1. I love that the scripture tell us that when we are weak He is strong and his strength is perfect in our weaknesses. We don’t have to believe that we can do what he calls us to do but we have to believe that He can do it through us.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Vonnie very good insight and mind provoking thoughts on trusting God’s request for me to be a vessel for use. I am reminded that if He is asking He already knows of my capabilities. Awesome word!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

