What Good Can Come of This?

“Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?”- Matthew 6:27

“If I had a dollar for every time I (fill in the blank here) I’d be rich,” How many times have we said that?  For me, the blank space would be filled with the word worry.

I used to worry. A LOT. So much so, that if worry was a trade, I’d be a success.  In fact, I wouldn’t consider it a normal day, unless I found something to worry about. And guess what? No coins were added to my bank account as a result.

The only thing worrying ever got me was a trip to the ER. I realized then, worrying was not part of what God had for me. I can hear God saying, ‘why didn’t you just bring this to me in the first place?’ Yet for every time we do something negative or of no value, we continue, and lo and behold we are not edified as a result of it. Jesus said something similar, How many of us can add height to our stature by doing it? (Matt 6:27). In other words, what good can you gain from worrying? I think we all know the answer to that, none.

Worry adds to our stress, anxiety, and the rise of our blood pressure.  Yet nothing good ever comes from doing it. Now that is not to say that we don’t have cares or concerns in this life. We do! It’s a part of living. The welfare of our loved ones, finances, our health- the list goes on. But concerns should prompt us to take them to God in prayer.  The opposite of worry is prayer.

Furthermore, the Word of God instructs us what to do with our concerns. He said to cast them upon Him (1 Pet 5:7).

As a wife and a mother to three, certainly I have plenty to worry about. However, I worry less, because I am learning to let God handle my concerns. I take it to Him. I share my thoughts and feelings about them with Him. I ask Him how to handle situations, His opinion about them, or if I should leave it alone. And you know what?  The things I’d worry about, either never happened, wasn’t as big a deal as I thought or God handled it better than expected.  I found that the weight of stress and worry lifted off of me.  And what good came out of that? Peace that surpassed all understanding (Phil 4:7).

Some days it is a struggle for me to let go of worry. As a reformed worry wort, sometimes old habits die hard, as they say.  The enemy never misses an opportunity to fill my head with worry and doubt. Walking in faith and trusting God is an ever-learning process. So I have to consistently remind myself no good can come from worrying but to take it to Him in prayer.

It’s like being a child bringing our problems to mommy and daddy and taking comfort in the fact that they will fix it. They’ve  got this, and all will be right in the world.  What a relief!  The same it is with God our Father.

Don’t worry.  Take your concerns to Him. He’s got this. He’s got you.

Lavahn Davis ~ Writer, loves God, hubby and kids…. the rest are just fringe benefits

lavahn-davis

2 thoughts on “What Good Can Come of This?

Leave a Reply

