Living in the Moment

Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble -Matthew 6:34

We live in the age of “moving on to the next thing”. Everything is about what’s happening next. Who is the next rising star? What is the next fashion trend? When you go to the store in the winter to try to shop for a sweater, you find yourself surrounded with next summer’s bathing suits (An absolute annoyance as my body is still in winter mode).

So it is little wonder that I find myself living in the fast forward lane to life. On to the next day and mentally listing all the things I have to do or what’s on the agenda because what I do today effectively has an impact on tomorrow. But hardly do I stay on the path of today. By days end, I find that I hadn’t really been present. I hadn’t lived in the present. How many of us do that?

Don’t feel bad, God said in Matthew 6:34 for us not to worry about what tomorrow will bring. Now He wasn’t talking about not preparing for tomorrow. That’s different.  Careful planning is a necessity of life because it alleviates unnecessary worry. We are to prepare what needs to be done for the next day, and then leave it there.

Oftentimes, I prepare for the next day, and I’m still in the next day not paying any attention to what’s going on in front of me.  In time, before you know it, the kids will have grown, precious moments will have been missed, and loved ones will have transition from this life to the next, and what do we famously say? ‘Where has all the time gone?’ Or ‘Time is moving so fast.’ Yea it goes by quick. And if you are not diligent enough to be present in the present, you will miss it.

God by His grace gave us right now, this moment. Today. Live in it! I’ve gotten in the habit of asking God to keep my mind to focus on the now, and He is faithful. Besides, God is so Awesome. He already knows what we need before we even ask him. (Matt 6:8) and He leaves no stone unturned (Phil 1:6).  He even fulfills needs that may have slipped my mind.  He’s that good. It’s also an awesome thing to be present in His presence.

Don’t let worries creep into your quiet moments with Him. He’s already in tomorrow and He has taken care all of the details (Matt 6:31).  Don’t let today pass you by.

Enjoy your coffee, and live in the moment

Lavahn Davis ~ Writer, loves God, hubby and kids…. the rest are just fringe benefits

lavahn-davis

2 thoughts on “Living in the Moment

  1. Vonnie this is another good word of inspiration. I like when you said, I asked God to keep me focused on the “now”. Lord keep my mind!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

