Decreasing the Value of God

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.~ Psalm 46:1

People tell me often, ‘Ayoka, you have so much on your plate. How do you manage to get it all done?’ I shake my head and tell people, my schedule isn’t that bad. I am getting it all done.

Here is the truth – I struggle daily with an unrealistic habit, I work very hard to make things look easy and effortless. If I work on a project for 2 days, I will give the appearance that it only took me 2 hours.  I want to, as much as possible, appear to be close to perfect. This makes me valuable, at work, home and at church.

Not only has this thought been unrealistic, it has been prideful. What would actually be wrong with saying, ‘I need help’ or ‘this task is difficult’?

God has given us great assignments but He never meant for us to bear the burdens alone. When we don’t seek His help we actually decrease His value in our life. There is no shame in going to God and casting cares on Him. That is exactly what he wants us to do!

There was a story about a man who was stuck in a flood. Three times someone came to rescue him, and three times he refused the help. When the man died, He asked God, Why didn’t he help? God’s reply was that he sent a lifeboat, a raft and a helicopter. The man never saw the value in the help God sent.

This week, I encourage you not to be overloaded with tasks. Reflect on the Psalm and remember these three points:

  1. Admit that help is needed
  2. Accept assistance when it comes
  3. Allow God to be who he is : Refuge, Strength and Help

Don’t decrease God’s value! Enjoy your coffee and power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

 

2 thoughts on “Decreasing the Value of God

Leave a Reply

