‘In time’ but not ‘On time’

I examined my lifestyle I examined my lifestyle and set my feet in the direction of your decrees. I hurried and did not procrastinate to keep your commands. Psalm 119:59-60

As I prepared myself for work today, I noticed that I was about twenty minutes ahead of my normal schedule. My clothes were ironed, my eggs for breakfast were boiling. I thought to myself “this is going to be a great day, I will get to work early. No rushing today!” But instead of staying on pace, I started moving slower. Sure enough, I found myself leaving the house as usual, hoping there are no accidents or incidents, so that I would arrive to work in time.

And God showed me a lesson in this…

Since my younger days, I have trained my thoughts to do things ‘in time’. I can see the results of this in many areas of my life. Paying bills ‘in time’ before cut offs and repossessions. When in school, I would turn in assignments ‘in time’ before they would be marked as late or lose grade points. Even my arrival times at work and church are just ‘in time’, underneath the threshold of being late, but certainly not early. When did this become acceptable, do get things done just in time?
Does this make me unreliable, untrustworthy, or flaky? Can God trust me to move when he says move, or will I continue to mix my convenience with His deadlines? Is this why I have struggled with time management for so long?

It’s evaluation time. I am finding that I should evaluate my life at least once a week. In doing so, gaps are closing.

  • Stop winging things. Create a written structure for everything. It can be a to do list, form or a sheet.
  • Use the calendar. Utilize it to finish projects, pay bills, etc., before deadline dates. Deadlines are all about being ‘in time’
  •  Unless there is a true emergency, stop allowing people to infringe on scheduled time. And even then… It is okay to say no.

I am pressing toward making my mornings free from worrying about deadlines and getting things done in time! I keep saying that by the end of 2017, I will be a master of time-management. That stronghold of procrastination will be torn down.

This morning, I switched things up, I am sipping on tea. (Although I did have a sugar free energy drink) Enjoy your coffee and be on time to power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayoka-boyce-outdoors-massanutten-va

2 thoughts on “‘In time’ but not ‘On time’

Leave a Reply

