Get Uncomfortable

And the Lord will continually guide you, And satisfy your soul in scorched and dry places,And give strength to your bones; And you will be like a watered garden, And like a spring of water whose waters do not fail ~ Isaiah 58:11

This Wednesday, I had to revisit 2016. It was my annual review at work.

Let me give you a quick background. 2016 was not a great year at work. There was a real struggle between my boss and me.It was so intense that several VP’s and even Human Resources had to get involved. That the stress caused me to on medical leave for two and a half months.When I did return to work, I went back with the intention to only concern myself with my own actions. I can’t change anyone else’s behavior or their opinions about me.

Since my return, the boss and I actually get along and work has gone on without hiccups.So the last thing I wanted to do was go back there. I was tense, and almost immediately, the same distrustful feelings resurfaced. I had to cast down thoughts and hush the words that I wanted to say. By God’s grace, I didn’t say things like ‘you know that’s not how that happened’ even though I really wanted to. But there comes a time when you just refuse to take the bait.

Again, it was my reminder from God. Stop getting comfortable at that job. I keep thinking about my vested time, health benefits and vested time even though I know it is time to prepare to leave.

Get Uncomfortable

So today, I did something that I almost never do. I called out. It was uncomfortable making that call this morning. I almost changed my mind and went in, even though I was pretty much burned out for the week. But this day is needed. I’m spending time with God, letting Him minister to me. I want clarity for my next career steps so that I don’t make emotional moves. Comfortable is not a great place to stay

On a better note, I did get a raise.

This morning, I am having coffee and accepting that God is making me uncomfortable. I trust Him! Enjoy your coffee, your Friday, and power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

author-ayoka-boyce

2 thoughts on “Get Uncomfortable

Leave a Reply

