Wearing Two Faces

Be angry, yet do not sin. Do not let the sun set while you are still angry, and do not give the Devil an opportunity to work.~ Ephesians 4:26 – 27
A couple of weeks ago, I was presented with this question, ‘Who would I be the LEAST likely to invite to church, a family member or a co-worker?’ Hands down, for me I am least likely to ever invite a co-worker with me to church.

I invited two people to a women’s event a couple of years back. One other time, a coworker came by for a Christmas program because she worked with the praise dancer. Other than that, I can’t say that even I think much about my coworkers outside of my working hours. Certainly not enough that I would invite them to church.

But It gets worse

No one here has ever pulled me to the side and asked about coming with me to church. I had to evaluate, am I not showing the love of Christ when I get to work?

Truthfully,  they usually see me in an almost daily battle with my boss. And can I really say that I am approachable when I make sure to keep headphones in for the majority of the day? They get to witness me not smiling, frustrated over the work, unhappy about being there, and dissatisfied. When I occasionally share a Social Media picture of me, they are surprised to see me happy…

Work is the only place where my guard is up 99% of the time. There has been a strong battle here, which started right around the time I first became a minister. This morning, I wonder, just how strategic the attack has been at work?  Has the enemy been setting me up every day, intentionally irritating me, so that my reaction would stink to my coworkers? Who is really going to follow an irritated, standoffish, minister to church?

Looks like I have work to do and an attitude to fix. I am going to start off on a new note by actually offering coffee. Which, believe it or not, has been the one thing that I am not ever willing to share while I am here.

Ministry is all around us. Enjoy your coffee and Power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger and Lover of Coffee

nikki-p-serene

2 thoughts on “Wearing Two Faces

Leave a Reply

