Get Over the Hump

The angel of the Lord appeared to him and told him, “The Lord is with you, you valiant warrior!” But Gideon replied, “Right… Sir, if the Lord is with us, then why has all of this happened to us? And where are all of his miraculous works that our ancestors recounted to us when they said, ‘The Lord brought us up from Egypt, didn’t he?’ But now the Lord has abandoned us and given us over to Midian!” ~ Judges 6: 12-13

When my father was alive, there was this one line that he would say often, “Ayoka, I’m going to be here just long enough to get you ‘over the hump’.” He would usually say it when he wanted to make a point, like telling me to save money or to study. When he passed away (I was 19) I took on the thought the he must have believed I was ready. He thought I was over the hump.

I did not think so. I was terrified. I believed I was too young to take on the responsibility of being on my own. He was supposed to stay around to pay the mortgage and household bills. He was still supposed to be here to give me money every week so that my needs would be taken care of. He was not supposed to leave, I still needed my college tuition paid! Did he really leave me like this and think I was over the hump?

I really had doubts that I was equipped to get through the rest of my life. I was young and spoiled. For a while, I forgot that even though my dad was gone, my Father (God) was still with me.

Remember the story of Gideon

Gideon was chosen to lead Israel in battle. The angel found him threshing wheat but addressed him as a ‘Valiant Warrior’. I can imagine Gideon saying ‘Who me? No, I’m not ready for this.’ Actually, his words sound familiar… “God abandoned us here in Midian. How can I be the one to deliver Israel? I am still the youngest!”

God gave Gideon instructions. He had to tear down the idols and strongholds from his father’s house. He was afraid, but he did it anyway. When he initially counted an army of 32,000 soldiers to fight with him, he found that only 300 men were commissioned be God to go with him.
Gideon had fears and questions about his abilities but it was never about what he could do on his own. His father, God, was with him to fight the battle and get him over the hump!

The one thing to remember about any trial that we face – they come to make us strong. Our Father will get us over the hump! Happy hump day! Enjoy your coffee and Power up your Day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

cropped-more-than-a-conqueror

Leave a Reply

