Attitude Check

But I am in pain and distress. Let your salvation, God, protect me. ~ Psalm 69:29

I say this often, I get one day a month to feel like this – blah. Today seems to be that day. It was a fight to write the blog this morning. I have started 4 different topics this morning, but they just were not right. And God let me know that it was okay for me to write the truth. Somebody needs to hear this.

There are days that we don’t feel great. Sometimes, it is for no particular reason at all, we just feel blah. It isn’t intentional to feel this way.

But there has to be an intention to come out of the funk. I know that the longer I ‘allow’ myself to stay in this mood, the more susceptible I am to falling for the tricks of the enemy. Before I get to this point, Lord let your salvation protect me! Protect me from depression, irritation, loathing and every emotion that comes with this. Let your salvation protect me from making emotional decisions including spontaneous online shopping or choosing to eat a large unhealthy but comforting lunch. Let your salvation protect me from reverting back to old habits of drinking and self-harm. Let your salvation protect me from making phone calls to people I don’t need to be talking to…

The Psalmist David

Prior to this verse, it would appear that David was having ‘a day’. He is drowning from emotions and trouble and claimed to be exhausted from calling for help. He doesn’t seem to have a friend in the world, he is surrounded only by enemies who want to do him in. (Yes, that has been how I felt this morning) But David prayed that he not stay in that place. He switched his words of complaint and distress. He began to praise and magnify God, understanding that his complaints were not pleasing. He then changed the atmosphere around him and implored that even the heavens and earth should join him in praising God.

What a turnaround he made! The question is, what am I going to do now. I do believe, I will get my life together, and change the atmosphere around this place. If I can influence an icky mood, surely with the help of God, I can switch this mood around.

I need an afternoon cup of coffee.
Be intentionally happy! Enjoy your coffee and power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce~ Minister, Author, Blogger and Lover of Coffee

20161208_235556

Leave a Reply

