Pray, Cry, Stand

I believed, even when I said, “I am severely afflicted.” ~ Psalm 116:10

A Facebook friend, Elder Davis, recently shared a video. It showed a group of praise dancers ministering to the song “stand” by Donnie McClurkin. The dance caught my attention, as it is high up on my favorites list. But I really wanted to see how the dancers would move to the lines ‘you prayed and cried, you prayed and cried’! (If you don’t know the song, I promise, it is awesome).

This part of the song is particularly touching. How many times have I prayed and cried? Sometimes tears were the only words that I could form. i had to learn that He understands when my heart is so overwhelmed that it causes my eyes to swell with tears. Even still, as the song says, after doing all I can, I am still determined to stand.

When we are afflicted, the enemy will take the opportunity to whisper lies ‘you won’t make it through this’, ‘God isn’t listening to you’ or ‘You deserve this trouble to happen to you’. Don’t listen to the lies. Believe God!

God takes these opportunities to speak to our hearts, to make us stronger and to bless us. Therefore, even when it hurts or is disappointing, we stand because we know the pain of the affliction is only for a moment.

Today, I want to encourage you. Be strong in every affliction. Believe even when tears have to flow. Know that God will see you through it, He is listening and He will have you to see the victory in it.

Enjoy your coffee, Power up your day and believe!

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

author-ayoka-boyce

Leave a Reply

