Lying Through my Jeans

For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from being king. ~ 1 Sam 15:23

Jeans are not usually acceptable attire at my job. However, we can purchase passes to wear them. (The money goes to charity). I always enjoy it when the passes are in effect because of the ease and comfort that I can have throughout the day.

This morning, stayed in bed for a few extra minutes. I knew I would put on a pair of jeans with a top and be able to quickly head out of the door for work. but God had a conversation with me as soon as I went to pull a pair out of the closet. This is how the conversation went…

God: Are you going to wear those?
Me: Of course
God: Did you purchase a jeans pass?
Me: No, but no one is going to ask to see it
God: Does that make it right?
Me: It’s only jeans
God: So you are going to walk into work wearing a lie?
Me: Ummm
God: Every day you put on the jeans without a pass, you are lying. Do you think maybe that’s why you have so much trouble at work?

By now, I put the jeans down. I got it. I never thought that a small thing like wearing jeans without a pass could bring shame to the Kingdom. I got dressed thinking these things, ‘Do I think that it is okay to not follow the rules?’ And in the words of my pastor, Bishop Michael B Curtis Jr, ‘Does this bring glory to God’?

King Saul did not follow the rules. He was chided for his rebellion to the rules that God gave him in this battle.  Over time, his pattern of disobedience cost him his peace of mind, his favor with God and man, his kingdom and his life.

I don’t consider myself to be a liar, at least not with my mouth. God showed me that if I do not get this small thing in check, that I would be opening the door to the stronghold of lying, including deception, trickery, and denial. Small things in life add up, in time, this behavior could cause me to be rejected by God!

I am grateful to serve a God who pushes me in the direction to do better.

I am wearing slacks and it’s time for me to make some coffee. Enjoy your coffee and Power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

 

Leave a Reply

