Multi-Purposed Strength

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies. ~ Psalm 18:2-3

I keep a roll of paper towels in my desk drawer. For me, they are a necessity. The paper towel can clean up spills. Or it can be a ‘place-mat’ protecting my desk from a coffee ring. It serves two purposes, depending on my use, it either protects from a spill or it cleans a spill.

Like my desk, there are days when I need strength, either to clean up a messy situation or to protect me from one. Sometimes there are days when I am confident that I can handle all that God has called me to. But then there are days when I feel like I can’t do a thing. In either case, I have a constant – God is my Stronghold! I have to rely on Him for my strength. When I dare to rely on my emotions, I find that my thoughts and actions usually wind up in a messy left field.

David was a warrior. Certainly he knew that strongholds were difficult barriers to breakthrough. Those who hide and fight behind a stronghold have the advantages of both a strong defense and a strong offense. The stronghold provides a place which is difficult for an enemy to penetrate. Yet it also provides a strategic point to fight and prevail against an enemy. In this verse, David names God as his stronghold. He is both protected and has the tactical advantage to be victorious.

No matter where you find yourself today, on the defense or the offense, take refuge in God. God is sure to place you in the position of victory.

Enjoy your coffee and Power up your Day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

author-ayoka-boyce

2 thoughts on “Multi-Purposed Strength

Leave a Reply

