Teachable Moments

Blessed is the man  who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night ~ Psalm 1:1-2

If I don’t bring breakfast to work, I will usually head down to the cafeteria and grab 2 or 3 boiled eggs. I chop them up, add mayo and prepare a quick egg salad at my desk. Today, I went down late. Breakfast was nearly over and of course, they were out of boiled eggs.

It didn’t help that I was with my co-workers. So with my serious face on I asked for 3 boiled eggs that clearly were not there. the server looked at me like I was nuts. Then I asked (another serious face) “Well why don’t you have any boiled eggs, because you have a pan full of these hard scrambled eggs that ‘no one’ purchased? If you know no one is eating them, why do keep making the scrambled when you can make more boiled eggs?”

I could have eliminated this in 2 ways…

First, I should have brought my own breakfast. at 85 cents an egg, I could have purchased the 18 pack

Second, (this really should be first) Even if I never bring breakfast or lunch, I should not have ‘scoffed’ at the situation.

I had to look up the word ‘scoffer’. I have been quoting Psalm 1 for years, but I have done so with an assumed understanding.

Vocabulary.com –  Scoffersomeone who jeers or mocks or treats something with contempt or calls out in derision

Yes , that was me today, a scoffer. All over an egg. And I let this put me in the same category as ‘being in the counsel of the wicked and standing in the way of sinners’. The egg wasn’t serious. My behavior was concerning.

So, I went back to apologize. The gentleman looked relieved. He wished me a great weekend and I wished him the same. I want to be blessed, but I have come to the realization that sometimes the small behaviors that go unchecked are the things that keep me from receiving the full blessings of God.

I keep asking why am I still at this job. But I see that some of my most teachable moments come from me being at work.

Life is full of teachable moments.   Enjoy your coffee and power up your day!

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee 

cropped-more-than-a-conqueror

One thought on “Teachable Moments

Leave a Reply

