Provision or Prison?

So they took up Jonah, and cast him forth into the sea: and the sea ceased from her raging…Now the Lord had prepared a great fish to swallow up Jonah. And Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights. ~ Jonah 1:15,17

I have been debating about doing something for almost a year. This morning I think I’ve just about made up my mind. I’m going to file for chapter 13 bankruptcy where I can pay off my bills through a trustee.

I don’t want to do this.¬† What I really want is for one of my cousins to win the Mega Million and hit me off for a couple of million dollars. Somehow, I don’t think that will be God’s provision for me.

Was the fish provision or punishment?

Whenever I looked at Jonah and the story of him being in the fish, I always thought that the fish was his punishment. I never thought of the fish being his provision. Jonah never would have survived in the water without protection, and that fish, although it may have been a little uncomfortable, was his protection. It provided him a safe haven to live, and then to go forward and do the work he was sent to do.

I’m Jumping out of the ‘familiar’ boat

It’s familiar for me to live paycheck-to-paycheck. It’s familiar to me to get a few dollars from my mother or another close friend. The stronghold says ‘stay where you are, just keep borrowing and going deeper into debt. The stronghold says you’re never going to be any better anyway so stop trying. ¬†Freedom says just stop the madness.

God has actually already made the provision for me, I just have to leap off of this familiar boat of what I am used to having and what I am used to not having. Worrying about money and not even looking forward to payday is not a pleasant way to live. The real prison is staying in the stronghold.

Just some thoughts that I’m having this morning. I guess the next decision I have to make is whether I’m going to hire a lawyer or tackle the paperwork myself. Decisions,decisions, decisions.

Don’t be afraid of God’s provision, especially if it will loose you from a stronghold. Enjoy your coffee and power up your day.

Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

One thought on “Provision or Prison?

Leave a Reply

