Swimming Underwater

When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. ~ Isaiah 43:2

When people find out that I know how to swim, they are usually surprised. I explain that Brooklyn Tech, my high school Alma mater, made swimming a requirement. Every student had to take one semester of swim class. In order to pass the class, we had swim the complete length of the pool. Let me say this, failing this class was NOT an option. If you graduated from Brooklyn Tech, you knew how to swim.

Although I made it across and passed the class, I never could master swimming underwater. The few times that I tried, I floated up to the top. Now, when I dare to go to a pool or beach, there’s no almost no chance of me going under because I don’t want to get all of this hair soaking wet!

Yesterday, I was going over my to do list. I realized that as much as I had already completed, I still had much more to do. I told God that I was “in way over my head”. His reply was simple and profound. “Learn how to swim underwater.”

Water is a strong force. The resistance of water builds your muscle in amazing ways. Water exercises are used for therapy, for weight loss and even strength building. When we are deep in the water, we are actually in position to learn, to grow, and to excel.

If you are feeling overwhelmed by the necessary weekly tasks on your plate, I am going to encourage you as God encouraged me. Learn to swim underwater. Before long we will be fantastic ‘swimmers’, going further and faster than we ever thought possible.

Enjoy your coffee and Power up Your day
Ayoka Boyce ~ Minister, Author,Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

Leave a Reply

