4 Things I learned from Holy Week 2017

Good Afternoon and Happy Monday
I have not blogged in over a week. No excuses, I got busy, did not plan well and I dropped the ball. But I did learn some things and I am jumping back in so I can share the lessons God taught me this past week.

1. Do not abandon the assignment

I started a theme, Seven Days of Happiness. I finished up to day 4. Things got really busy, I was tired and I let it slip. It went from 1 day, to 2 days… Funny thing, I was not very happy for those days. I honestly believe that had I continued the series, I would have grasped a hold to the happiness (It is a choice and a push to maintain happiness but it is well worth it.)

Jesus was busy. He multi-tasked. Even while he was hanging from the cross, He still ministered. The assignment was never abandoned. In fact, you find him consistently reminding his disciples that he had an assignment to die.

When life, family, friends, etc deter your focus away, remind them of your assignment. It will keep everything in focus.

And He began to teach them that the Son of Man must suffer many things, and be rejected by the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and after three days rise again. Mark 8:31

2. The enemy will go after your heart, don’t fall for the emotional tricks

If you didn’t know, I am single, and I am okay with it. However, I did kind of meet someone and have been enjoying his company. I assumed that he knew that I was a minister, but when I mentioned it, apparently he didn’t know. The next morning, I got my walking papers by inbox (You are wonderful, but….)
No I didn’t cry or lose any sleep, but it was enough to irritate me for a few hours. I did not want to blog, post, or think about ministry. The enemy (not the person) used the occasion to go after my heart and question myself. Once I recognized real trick, I picked myself up (got intentionally happy) and went back to doing what I do. Later that afternoon, I had the opportunity to minister for the first time via a Spoken Word event and it was awesome. That evening, I did a Live Facebook of my book A Love Conversation. It had been a while since I read it myself. And at the end of the book, I remembered the purpose of the ministry God gave to me.

Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. John 14:1

3. Ministry is everywhere – We need it and we give it

How many of us give and give, but rarely sit back to receive? That is me. always on the move, always have to be doing ‘something’. Who has time to be ministered to when I have so much to do?

I started reading a book ‘Jonesing – Pseudo Love’, by Keys. I read the first chapter and had to close it. The words immediately brought me to a place that I know I still need healed from. The character in this book starts off telling about a strained relationship with her mother. That is me most of the time. Our relationship is good but strained. This weekend, we got into the nastiest argument. When I left, I slammed the door so hard, I think I was trying to make the entire house crumble. It was ugly, and all of my anger kept going back to childhood. This occurred the day after I tried to read the book.

I really must sit down and read the book, and once and for all get over these issues. Geesh, let it go already Ayoka.

Yes, the incident is over and we both apologized. (She admitted that she really did start it lol).  But I really have to take Jesus’s lead. I may have to prepare myself, but I have to deal with the past, and let God minister to what is broken.

Then Mary took a pound of very costly oil of spikenard, anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped His feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the oil. John 12:3

4. Seek the Full picture for the Greatest understanding

The coolest thing happened on Friday.
So, I have been in church since childhood. I have read the gospels more times that I can think to number. But this year, for good Friday, I had a different experience.

Friday Morning, God instructed me to do a ‘timeline’ of Good Friday. I have never done so much study in such a short amount of time! Through the entire day, I searched all four Gospels. With the help of Google, posts were put so that the reader could follow the timeline. (At 12 noon EST, the post of the sun going dark and the next post was at 3pm EST when it is almost time for him to die. ) I don’t think I have ever felt the pain and the pull of Good Friday as I did this time.

There was ministry in that timeline. I can’t really describe but I invite you to read it here

And He opened their understanding, that they might comprehend the Scriptures. Luke 24:45

I am back. My prayer is that we don’t forget the passion and purpose of our assignments. Don’t abandon the ministry that God has given you to do. Enjoy your coffee and power up your day.

Ayoka ~ Minister, Blogger, Author, Lover of Coffee

ayokaboyce

Leave a Reply

