Chipping Down this Wall

On the seventh day they were up at the crack of dawn and marched around the city as before—only this time they marched around it seven times. ~ Joshua 6:15

I hate writer’s block. Some say it is real, others say it isn’t. Whatever this is, I have had it for the last couple of weeks.

I’ve been able to write short things, a few social media posts, some notes here and there. But that it was not the way I wanted to write. See, I really love it when the ‘flow’ comes, when I start writing one thing and what begins slow, turns into my fingers flying across the keys. Words are rushing to keep up with my thoughts. And even though I am sitting still behind a keyboard, when I am finished writing, I am literally and figuratively out of breath.

Of course, life is not all about the easy way. Neither is it about having things go only our way. When things get difficult, that is when we have the best opportunities to grow.

Joshua

We know the story, there was a wall that had to come down. Nothing was easy about the thought of that task. My mind imagines that if I were there, looking at this huge wall surrounding a great city, I would have asked the Lord, ‘How in the world am I supposed to take this wall down?’

I can further imagine God replying back me, ‘By taking one step at a time!’

Well, I was not writing the way I wanted to, but I did take a few steps in the right direction.  I had a writing course and learned new writing techniques and I took a stab at mind-mapping. That opened my eyes to a more in-depth level of doing that one thing I love to do. Had it not been for the block, I would never have taken the class. I would have taken it for granted that the words were just supposed to flow.

So here is my motivation for the day

  1. It’s okay to be ‘stopped at a red light’. Sometimes the direction we are to go in requires us to take a moment. It is only for a moment. The light will turn green again.
  2. Slower paces will still take you to your destination. Seriously, my dad was the slowest driver, but he NEVER had a ticket, an accident, an incident and he always arrived prior to on-time.
  3. Put on some music and enjoy the ride. Whatever your purpose is, whatever dream you are pursuing, enjoy the ride. In the midst of everything that you do, keep your joy and your enthusiasm for the journey.

In other words, take it one step at time! Enjoy your coffee and power up your day

Ayoka boyce ~ Minister, Author, Blogger, Lover of Coffee

ayoka-boyce-outdoors-massanutten-va

Leave a Reply

